Jonathan Scherk & Daniel Majer:
It's Counterpart



A1. Jonathan Scherk: Untitled
A2. Jonathan Scherk: Touch
A3. Jonathan Scherk: Sure of You
A4. Jonathan Scherk: Gulp for the Whole
A5. Jonathan Scherk: Way of Saying
A6. Jonathan Scherk: Wristed
A7. Jonathan Scherk: Get a Little s
A8. Jonathan Scherk: Wince

B1. Daniel Majer: Little Faith
B2. Daniel Majer: Something There Somewhere
B3. Daniel Majer: Piaget
B4. Daniel Majer: Recognize
B5. Daniel Majer: Mourning Tide
B6. Daniel Majer: She Barely Spoke
B7. Daniel Majer: Halls

Jonathan Scherk & Daniel Majer:
It's Counterpart

Faitiche is delighted to welcome two young artists from Canada: Jonathan Scherk and Daniel Majer hail from the post-rock and experimental scene in Vancouver, where they shared a studio for several years. In artistic terms, too, there is a surprising coherence: on It’s Counterpart, their solo work naturally blends to create a joint album, making it hard to distinguish between their contributions. Majer describes his part as a shadow-like reflection to Scherk’s brightly meandering collages. The album’s title refers to this: It's Counterpart presents two solo artists who have met their match in one another.

Scherk and Majer produce contemporary sound collages on samplers, laptops etc. using raw material drawn from YouTube videos, field recordings, cassettes, and LPs from the dollar bin – the kind of rightly forgotten obscurities that have long since lost their audience, if they ever had one. In the hands of Scherk and Majer, they become abstract sound objects. The two artists don't concern themselves with the material's original context – the sound's character is most important. This sets them apart from other collage artists. Their work might be called a contemporary upgrade of the classic tape collage: here, channelling a wealth of information is the main focus. So are these collages that trigger neither associations nor contexts? Au contraire! It’s Counterpart is like an overheated centrifuge whose spinning extracts and joins together all of the harmonies ever pressed on vinyl. Melodies run amok.

Mixed by Jonathan Scherk & Daniel Majer, Tracks 1-8 composed and produced by Jonathan Scherk, Tracks 9-15 composed and produced by Daniel Majer, Mastering by Rashad Becker, Graphic design by Tim Tetzner, Special thanks to Teodora Cepic.